WDAZ: Your Home Team

Published December 23, 2009, 05:46 PM

Kristo makes final USA cut

UND forward will play in second consecutive World Junior Championship

By: Alex Clark, USA Hockey

SASKATOON, Sask. - USA Hockey today announced its 22-player roster the 2010 U.S. National Junior Team that will compete at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship Dec. 26, 2009-Jan. 5, 2010, in Saskatoon and Regina, Sask.

"This roster includes a significant number of players who have had success in international competition, which will help us as we prepare to play here in Canada," said Jim Johannson, general manager of the 2010 U.S. National Junior Team. "We had some really tough choices to make to get down to 22, but, in the end, that's a positive sign for the state of hockey in our country."

"I'm really excited about this team," said Dean Blais, head coach of the 2010 U.S. National Junior Team. "We have a good mixture of speed and grit, and we look forward to the challenge ahead of us."

Among those named to the 2010 roster are three returning forwards from the 2009 U.S. National Junior Team, including Tyler Johnson (Spokane, Wash.), Danny Kristo (Eden Prairie, Minn./University of North Dakota) and Jordan Schroeder (Prior Lake, Minn./University of Minnesota).

Also highlighting the roster are seven players from the gold medal-winning 2009 U.S. National Under-18 Team, including forwards Ryan Bourque (Boxford, Mass.), Jerry D'Amigo (Binghamton, N.Y./Rensselaer), Jeremy Morin (Auburn, N.Y.) and Jason Zucker (Las Vegas, Nev./U.S. National Under-18 Team); defensemen Cam Fowler (Farmington Hills, Mich.) and John Ramage (St. Louis, Mo./University of Wisconsin); and goalie Jack Campbell (Port Huron, Mich./U.S. National Under-18 Team)

Team USA will face Slovakia on Saturday (Dec. 26) in its first game of the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship. The game will begin at 8 p.m. EST, and will be aired live in the U.S. on the NHL Network.

NOTES: Jordan Schroeder is the only two-time U.S. National Junior Team member on the 2010 roster, having competed in 2008 and 2009 ... Team USA goalie Jack Campbell and forward Jason Zucker (Las Vegas, Nev.) currently skate for the U.S. National Under-18 Team, a part of USA Hockey's National Team Development Program. Ten additional players on the U.S. National Junior Team roster have experience with USA Hockey's NTDP, including Ryan Bourque, Jerry D'Amigo, Cam Fowler, Danny Kristo, Philip McRae (Chesterfield, Mo.), Jeremy Morin, Kyle Palmieri (Montvale, N.J./University of Notre Dame), John Ramage, Jordan Schroeder and David Warsofsky (Marshfield, Mass./Boston University) ... Four members of Team USA have experience in the United States Hockey League, the only Tier I league in the U.S. Included among them are defensemen John Carlson (Colonia, N.J./Indiana Ice) and Matt Donovan (Edmond, Okla./Univ. of Denver/Cedar Rapids RoughRiders); forward Danny Kristo (Omaha Lancers); and goalie Mike Lee (Roseau, Minn./St. Cloud State Univ./Fargo Force) ... For a list of the 2010 U.S. National Junior Team players and their 2009-10 season stats, click here ... A U.S. junior squad comprised of 22 of the 2010 U.S. National Junior Team candidates fell to the Czech Republic, 3-2, in a shootout last night (Dec. 22). For a full game recap, click here ... A total of 30 players were named to Team USA's preliminary roster and invited to Grand Forks, N.D., for a pre-tournament camp that culminated in an exhibition game against the University of North Dakota men's ice hockey team.