WDAY.com

WDAZ: Your Home Team

Published June 28, 2013, 05:49 PM

Tougher ND DUI laws take effect Monday

DUI offenders in North Dakota will soon face tougher penalties. Changes to the state's laws take effect Monday, a month before the effective date of most other new laws and before the 4th of July holiday weekend.

DUI offenders in North Dakota will soon face tougher penalties. Changes to the state's laws take effect Monday, a month before the effective date of most other new laws and before the 4th of July holiday weekend.

Under the tough new laws, drunk drivers who cause the death of another person can be charged with a class A felony and face up to 20 years in prison. A first offense with a blood alcohol level of 0.13 carries a minimum fine of $500. Any level 0.16 or higher increases the minimum fine to $750 with a minimum mandatory jail sentence of 2 days. Repeat offenders will face mandatory jail sentences, mandatory probation and mandatory participation in the 24/7 Sobriety program.

Tags: