WDAZ: Your Home Team

Published April 30, 2010, 11:03 PM

Presidential Disaster Declaration for ND

Obama declares flood disaster in 22 ND counties

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — President Barack Obama has declared a federal disaster for 22 North Dakota counties and the Spirit Lake Sioux Indian reservation.

The move will provide federal aid to repair damage from recent spring flooding. Gov. John Hoeven said Friday it should apply to damage that's happened since Feb. 26.

The declaration means the federal government will cover three-quarters of the cost of repairing public works.

The affected counties are Barnes, Benson, Cass, Dickey, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, LaMoure, Logan, Mercer, Morton, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele, Stutsman, Traill, Walsh and Wells.

Earlier, the president declared a disaster for 12 North Dakota counties and the Standing Rock Sioux reservation in response to an early April snowstorm.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press.