WDAZ: Your Home Team

Published January 12, 2011, 05:12 PM

Frattin, Genoway Nominated for 2011 Hobey Baker Award

Fighting Sioux hockey fans can vote for North Dakota seniors Matt Frattin and Chay Genoway in the 2011 Hobey Baker Award fan balloting, which begins Wednesday.

By: Jason Hajdu, UND Media Relations

GRAND FORKS, N.D. - Fighting Sioux hockey fans can vote for North Dakota seniors Matt Frattin and Chay Genoway in the 2011 Hobey Baker Award fan balloting, which begins Wednesday.

The Hobey Baker Award recognizes the top player in NCAA Division I men's hockey each year. To submit a vote, visit www.hobeybaker.com and click on the 'Vote for Hobey Baker' tab. Users can vote for their favorite Hobey Baker candidate once every 24 hours. When online voting closes, the votes are tabulated and the results will carry a weight in the final selection process of the 2011 Hobey Baker Award winner.

Frattin has emerged as the most productive goal-scorer in the nation this season, scoring an NCAA-leading 20 goals through the first 23 games, four more than any other player in the country and six more than any other WCHA player. A native of Edmonton, Alberta, Frattin also tops the second-ranked and WCHA-leading Fighting Sioux with a career-high 28 points, and his 19 points during WCHA games are tied for the league lead.

Frattin enters the week riding an eight-game goal-scoring streak that is the fourth-longest in UND history and a nine-game point streak that is the longest of his career. Six of his 20 goals have come on the power-play, two have come shorthanded and two have been game-winners. Frattin has scored 30 goals in his last 35 games dating back to last Feb. 13.

Genoway, a fifth-year senior, has reclaimed his place among the most dynamic players in college hockey after missing virtually the entire 2009-10 season due to post-concussion syndrome. In 23 games this season, the Sioux captain has four goals and a team-leading 17 assists for 21 points, a total topped by only four other defensemen in the nation. Genoway leads all WCHA defensemen with 14 points in 14 league games and brings a career-best nine-game point streak into this week's series against Minnesota.

An AHCA All-American and the WCHA Defensive Player of the Year in 2008-09, Genoway leads all active NCAA Division I defensemen with 111 career points. The Morden, Manitoba, native is a three-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete, a three-time All-WCHA Academic selection and was an ESPN the Magazine Academic All-America first team honoree in 2008-09.

Hobey Baker Memorial Award Criteria

Candidates must exhibit strength of character both on and off the ice and must contribute to the integrity of the team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship. Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules, be full time students in an accredited NCAA college or university, and complete 50% or more of the season.

Hobey Baker Memorial Award Selection Process

Every head hockey coach at an accredited Division I NCAA school receives one ballot. Coaches are asked to pick the top three players in their league and the top three players in the nation (two separate rankings, three players each; a player may be listed in both places, and a coach can vote for his own player).

Coaches from 58 schools receive a ballot. Those ballots, along with Vote for Hobey's Preliminary Voting results, are tabulated by an accounting firm to determine the 10 finalists.

The top ten advances to the Selection Committee, which decides the eventual winner from the top ten. This committee is composed of print media, electronic media, NHL scouts, and the American Hockey Coaches Association (college hockey coaches). Its members are spread out among the hockey-playing section of the United States. The committee also includes an individual from USA Hockey.

Selection Committee terms are three years, and members may be reappointed. Selection Committee nominees are approved by a six-member Advisory Committee representing expertise in all facets of hockey.