WDAY.com

WDAZ: Your Home Team

Published April 05, 2011, 03:43 PM

$100 Fine for ND Texting Drivers on Way to Governor

North Dakota needs only Gov. Jack Dalrymple's signature to outlaw texting while driving. The North Dakota House voted 53-40 on Tuesday to give final approval to the ban.

By: Associated Press,

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) — North Dakota needs only Gov. Jack Dalrymple's signature to outlaw texting while driving.

The North Dakota House voted 53-40 on Tuesday to give final approval to the ban.

The legislation imposes a $100 state fine for people caught texting while driving. If it's signed by the governor it will take effect Aug. 1.

Earlier versions of the bill included driver's license penalty points for violators, and a one-year license suspension for a three-time violator. Those penalties have been removed.

Bismarck Rep. Lawrence Klemin (kluh-MEEN') says it's time North Dakota joined the majority of states that ban texting while driving.

The cities of Grand Forks and Bismarck already ban texting while driving. In Bismarck the fine is $50. It is a $15 fine in Grand Forks.

Tags: